Late Summer Reading

A few weeks ago, I got a hold of an ARC for “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline. It was, quite possibly, the coolest book I have ever read. Seriously, check it out. It came out last Wednesday in hardcover. If you’ve ever wanted to disappear into another world, virtual or otherwise, read it. If you’ve ever wanted to become something you’re not, a hero, warrior, or, well, a badass, read it. You won’t regret it.

In other news, I’ve just reread Lev Grossman’s “The Magician” and have started the sequel, “The Magician King.” I liked the first even more on this reread. It may be because Quentin, the protagonist, seems so much like me this time, or, well, I seem so much like Quentin. This book is so much more than a Harry Potter for grown-ups.This is the Harry Potter all the post-pubescent, living in the real world, pragmatic readers really wanted. In all my wide-reading, I’ve never found such a clear-eyed critique of the human condition and of the grass-is-always-greener attitude. “The Magician King” is shaping up to be just as good as the original. Although, I’m having a hard time because my favorite character was killed off in the last book.

And, for those interested, I’m starting my fourth and final year in college tomorrow. Huzzah!

One thought on “Late Summer Reading

Leave a Reply

