Adventures in the Land of Books

Galore by Michael Crummey was one of the strangest, most touching works I’ve read in a while. I had, for many weeks, considered buying it before I finally gave in to the urge. It’s a beautiful book–literally. I love the cover design and the feel of the pages. I also love the world Crummey created and the feel of his language. Galore is a work of magical realism and just might be considered alongside Marquez’ Love in the Time of Cholera and Kafka’s The Metamorphisis one day.

Galore is the story of Paradise Deep, a fictional village in Newfoundland, and a story about the Devine’s, a family burdened by destiny. The narrative takes place over two hundred years and follows multiple generations of Devine’s and other citizens of the Deep. It’s a book that won’t ever leave you. Three days after finishing, I’m still tangled over the ending. I won’t spoil it, but I was left with so many questions–the good kind–that I want to read it again just to look for any foreshadowing. If you can handle a work that is part historical fiction, part magical realism and multiple protagonists, check it out. You won’t be disappointed.

After Galore, I needed some lighter fare, so I picked up some good ole’ Terry Pratchett. Yesterday, I read through Mort and today I’ve sped my way through most of Sourcery. I can’t get enough. Terry Pratchett is the only author that can consistently make me laugh. The Daily Telegraph, a UK paper similar to USA Today, says: “As always he is head and shoulders above the best of the rest. He is screamingly funny. He is wise. He has style.” I couldn’t agree more.

One thought on “Adventures in the Land of Books

Leave a Reply

