“. . .And then what happened?” The Prodigal Blogger Returns

Guess who’s back? Back again? Shepherd’s back. Tell a friend.

Okay, now that I’ve gotten the all but required Eminem reference out of the way, I would like to announce the return of “Writing, Life, and an Itch to Explore.” I know, I know. This is the second “return” in the past two years, and the previous one barely lasted a month, but I’ve got a plan. It’ll work. Trust me, I’m a professional.

How have you all survived? I can only imagine how barren life must have seemed without everyone’s favorite mustachioed, be-sweatered, frequently tweeded smartass regularly posting doses of literary mana/drivel. 

For the curious, there are several reasons as to why I’ve been on hiatus for so long–some good and quite a few bad. I’m still practicing my craft, wordsmithing, forging language over a hot and thankless set of keys; however, in order to better develop a particular voice and style, I chose to practice privately. It may or may not have been beneficial. I’m still teaching special education, and it has been one of the most demanding and rewarding experiences of my life. I go to bed exhausted each day, but can’t help but feel as though, perhaps, I’ve made a small difference in someone’s life. And, admittedly, I’ve been somewhat lazy and hermit-like this past year. Withdrawing from most social experiences, digital or analog, I retreated into fiction and spent this year reading, writing, and dreaming. 

I decided to highlight the above-paragraph in a moody shade of blue. Even though it’s true, it seems maudlin. Maudlin and the color blue go well together, like Mexican food and Dos Equis. 

It’s been some time since I’ve looked over previous blog postings, and, man, some of this stuff is shit. I had forgotten how hackneyed I used to sound. There’s some real gold here, but a lot of this is about as interesting as a thirteen year-old’s diary. I still adore the idea behind a “30 Before 30 List,” but come on. . . How many places do I need to visit, and is that the only measure of a good life? And why the hell would I want to do a Polar Bear Plunge?

Here’s the plan: I’m going to be doing my damnedest to post at least once a week. Some previous posts may disappear and static pages may be revised. I’ll also be writing whatever strikes my fancy, so you might find a book review, commentary on current events, humorous stories from my day, or maybe, just maybe, I’ll try to revive the short-lived but well-conceived “Tweeded Ten“–’cause everyone loves tweed and almost everyone loves lists. The more engaged you all are, the better these posts will be.

It’s good to be back, folks. Here’s to good reading.

Leave a Reply

