Mind Dump

Don’t expect anything life-altering or particularly stunning out of this blog. It’s just a mind dump, of sorts.

This is the face of ennui.

This is the face of ennui.

1} Currently, I’m in a constant state of ennui. Cripplingly so, I might add. Few things stir me, and as of yet, nothing has been able to draw me out of this psychological bog. It’s taking a toll on production. While I’ve read several excellent books recently, I can’t continue to claim I’m reading in the name of “developing my craft.” I’m just unable to give a damn right now, and books are the perfect escape.

2} I finished Brandon Sanderson’s hefty tome “Words of Radiance” this morning and adored it. Sanderson has created a unique fantasy world that somehow encapsulates and yet escapes from the tropes of the epic fantasy genre. It also answered several questions I had concerning “The Way of Kings,” and yet managed to end with an appropriate number of questions left unanswered. Unfortunately, it will most likely be years before the third installment as Sanderson seems incapable of working on a single project. In other news, I picked up Nick Cutter’s “The Troop” this afternoon for a change of tone and genre. It’s a lovely and chilling tale, and I’ve gasped, trembled, and quaked in my Acorn slipper socks multiple times.

3} I recently discovered an excellent, distraction-free word processing software called Quabel. It’s simple, clean, and offers a unique feature that I–a living anachronism–love, typewriter sounds. Perfect for those times when a real typewriter just won’t do. While I haven’t been writing as much as I would like recently, I’ve found that using Quabel, typewriter sounds engaged, of course, keeps me at my desk longer, helps to dissuade me from constantly checking my email or twitter, and results in higher quality writing. Yes, it may be the placebo effect, I know.

4} In a little over two weeks, the annual Blogging from A to Z Challenge begins. I signed up for it, being a little more engaged in blogging this year. The goal is to post a blog for each day in April, excluding Sundays. I have a few theme ideas and one I really like, but it seems a little contrived. Contrived or not, I’ll most likely stick with it. The plan is to begin working on posts this week and have them set to auto-post on designated days. I’ll be spending the last weekend on March in D.C. and won’t have access to my laptop, so I need to do it ahead of time. Unfortunately, my well-honed sense of anti-procrastination has faded in the years since college…

5} Spring is here! I mean, I love winter as much as the next introverted, bookish guy. I enjoy the cold and like to be able to layer, since it offers more variety stylistically; however, I’m tired of gray skies, hiemal faces and dank, chilly classrooms. I’m ready for a well-manicured lawn, blue skies, leafy trees, bright colors, and warmer weather.

6} If you haven’t watched Neil deGrasse Tyson’s panegyric to Carl Sagan and to science, please do so. “Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey” is every bit as wonderful and evocative as Carl Sagan’s “Cosmos.” May it inspire a generation of new scientists and stargazers.

7} And, I’m sure there are countless other things I could say, but instead, I’ll leave you with this:

“We are all refugees from our childhoods. And so we turn, among other things, to stories. To write a story, to read a story, is to be a refugee from the state of refugees. Writers and readers seek a solution to the problem that time passes, that those who have gone are gone and those who will go, which is to say every one of us, will go. For there was a moment when anything was possible. And there will be a moment when nothing is possible. But in between we can create.” – Mohsin Hamid

Good night, and good reading, folks

Leave a Reply

